Pin It Forward UK!

Pin It Forward UK 2013
Thanks Coach Cox (aka Russ Cox) who “pinned it forward” to me yesterday, linking to thefitwriter blog in this blog post. Although it’s been some time now since I did a triathlon or dipped so much as a toe in open-water, we do share an endurance-sport passion 🙂

Pin It Forward UK kicked off almost a month ago and, since then, one UK blogger every day has blogged about their blogs, their interests and – of course – their Pinterest boards. It’s been fascinating to get to know so many UK bloggers across many different areas of interest and expertise. You can see the entire list of bloggers here – have a look, you may well discover one or two new favourites.

Today it falls to me to introduce the next link in the Pin It Forward UK chain, and to talk a bit about my own use of Pinterest.

I’ve been “pinning” for ages now. I flit in and out of Pinterest but find it a great tool, a useful resource and a rather “peaceful” social media platform. There’s no need to engage, chat, respond and comment (unless you want to). You can just look… And I like that!

As you’ll see if you look at my Pinterest account, I pin everything from tasty-looking bodybuilder-friendly recipes, to teeth-aching “post-comp” recipes (none of which I’ll ever make, but somehow just the act of pinning them makes me feel a bit satisfied!)

Screen shot 2013-06-02 at 20.22.58

The board I’ve been asked to talk to you about is my “Read Later” Pinterest board. Perhaps it needs a more exciting title! This is where I pin blog posts, online articles, book reviews and research relating to sport, fitness, mind set, sports psychology, nutrition, female sport and fitness, body recomposition, gender politics, bodybuilding, contest prep and more. Take a look: I’d love to hear from you if you find any of my pinned “read later” items interesting.

How about you? Do you enjoy using Pinterest?

Screen shot 2013-06-02 at 20.24.20

I’ll leave you with an introduction to Emma, who blogs at The Style Box (and Huffington Post UK) from her desk in sunny Bournemouth. She’ll be blogging about her own Pin It Forward UK experience tomorrow. Like me, she’s a freelancer (*fist-bump*) – she freelances as a social media consultant and trainer. Here’s Emma’s Pinterest. Emma: over to you!

Pin It Forward UK! is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

5 Responses to Pin It Forward UK!

  1. Thanks for participating in Pin It Forward, Nicola! You are an amazing pinner- I really enjoy looking through all your boards! It’s great to hear that you found so many inspirations on Pinterest in fitness, bodybuilding, sports psychology & more! I love your pin about 14 Things Happy People Do Differently- made me smile! Lauren, Community Coordinator

    Like

  2. I pin sporadically but agree it’s a nice and peaceful form of social media!It’s great seeing other peoples ideas and I think you can get a really strong idea of who they are or who they want to be!
    I love having somewhere I can pin ideas of what I think Strongwoman are.

    Like

  3. Actually I am going to copy you with that read later board, usually I favourite things on twitter that I haven’t got time to read but this will be useful for articles not found on twitter!!

    Like

Please leave a reply

