Update: Notch Watch 2013

IMG_5023

Here’s my latest installment of Notch Watch – namely that I have reached the final notch on my lifting belt with more than two weeks to go til my first show of the year.

IMG_5017

Given that it took me until the end of August last year to reach the same stage, I’m pretty pleased! (It was at more or less the same point in prep – two weeks out from my first comp).

Here’s me wearing the belt, done up to the same notch at which I started this year… (I didn’t start documenting Notch Watch 2013 til partway through March.

75b31748e31411e2ae9922000a1f9b71_6

I do realise, by the way, that the concept of Notch Watch could be seen as totally at odds with the sentiments in my post about bodybuilding encouraging us to be bigger and more, rather than less of ourselves (you can read it here – it was shared a lot on Twitter: if you shared it, thank you). I can see that. All I can say is that, for me, in general I like how bodybuilding encourages us to be bigger – or at least to seem bigger, and more, and not to shrink away. But if we want to be stage-lean, the waist has to go down. That’s why my waist is the only bit of myself I’ll measure, because I actually want everything else to either get bigger or at least remain the same. The excess body fat needs to shrink away, not me and my muscles!

(For those who asked – I’ve checked my notes and as of a couple of weeks ago, when I last did measurements, I’d lost 10.7cm off my waist – that’s mid-Jan to mid-June).

Other than that, there’s not a lot to update: I’m currently 2-and-a-bit weeks out from my first bodybuilding comp of the year (Sunday 21st) and things are ticking along just fine. Nothing particularly exciting to report, diet and training haven’t changed for a few weeks (although I am getting some changes from coach Vicky tomorrow), weight is still dropping slowly and fat is definitely still coming off. Routine is choreographed and rehearsed, posing is being done on the daily, everything’s in check. I’m looking forward to getting on stage again!

Update: Notch Watch 2013 is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

2 Responses to Update: Notch Watch 2013

  1. Trish says:

    Well done! Can’t wait to see you do your thing! X

    Like

Please leave a reply

