The Nephew Workout revisited

Remember The Nephew Workout?

(My, haven’t we both grown? LOL!)

Well that little baby is now nearly three, and he’s staying here with me for a few days whilst his Mum (my sister) and his Dad are at a wedding and enjoying some well-deserved couple time away. It’s the longest he’s ever stayed away from them (only ever one night previous to this).

So, I guess this is The Nephew Workout 2.0 It’s more of an endurance workout than the strength-based session in the post and video above 😉

I’m 9 days out from a bodybuilding comp, and 5 days post-comp. I’m training hard, dieting harder and… well, I’m a prepping bodybuilder.

I thought it would be interesting (and perhaps helpful to any other bodybuilding Aunties out there – holler!) to note my dos and don’ts for this Nephew Workout (the endurance session), in the context of me being so close to a comp.

9f5cfc88f55911e29ade22000a1f9bd0_7

Do:
– Enjoy.
I promised myself (and, indirectly, my nephew) before he arrived that I would enjoy his company and enjoy our few days together. I love this boy (sorry what you hadn’t noticed?!) and he won’t be little forever. We’re going to have fun. So – when I’m training, I’m training. When I’m cooking, I’m cooking. That’s it. Everything else can wait. We’re going to enjoy each others company and have a good time.
– Make the most of the extra “energy output” (let’s not call it cardio). Yesterday, on a whim, we decided to go and hire a rowing boat on the canal out the back of my house. Um, yes, rowing a small boy in a shonky old boat for an hour (after training shoulders and back) was hard work. That’s cool. So in one hour I had fun, entertained my nephew and caned some kcals. Good-oh!
– Have a plan. I can’t imagine any bodybuilder a week out would not have a plan, but this is where it will really come into its own. I’ve printed out my diet/meal plans and put them in the kitchen. I don’t have time to faff about this weekend. If you haven’t got a plan, come up with one before the nephew arrives. Now is not the time to be wondering what you might have for lunch, or for realising that you forgot to get the chicken out of the freezer.
– Prep your meals in advance. I usually do this but not always. Well, now I really don’t have an option. I’m not going to be able to cook the nephew his dinner, round him and the dog up from the garden, and oversee him eating if I also have to be chopping and cooking my own food. Also, who knows when I might randomly be on a rowing boat at meal times! 😉 I’m prepping all my food for the next day every single evening whilst nephew is here.
– Realise that small nephews just don’t mind, unless you do. I ate my mackerel and courgette out of a tupperware by the side of the canal in the middle of the afternoon – not lunch, not dinner. I briefly wondered if he might think I was strange. Nope, he just leaned over and said “and that’s your lunch”. He also doesn’t even seem to notice that I’m eating different things to him.

Don’t:
– Eat the nephew’s snacks.
My fridge has gone from one containing chicken, red meat, fish and green veg, to one containing all of the above + yoghurts, juice, berries, milk and cream cheese. My cupboards now contain gingerbread men, breadsticks, crackers, chocolate lollies and some kind of jelly wiggly-worm thing. Don’t let the presence of these newfangled food stuffs turn your head!
– Let the tiredness make you snappy. Yes, you’ll be more tired than usual (you know how sometimes in prep you are so tired you can’t bear the idea of climbing the stairs? Well, tough luck Auntie, cos someone’s up there shouting “um… Auntie Nic? I had a accident!”) It’s not the nephew’s fault you’re tired (it’s yours, you’re dieting for a comp and that was your decision).
– Weigh food in front of the nephew. I dunno, but it strikes me as wrong to let a little boy see you weighing broccoli. I mean, come on, it’s not normal is it, and a small child probably can’t understand why you’re doing it (many adults wouldn’t!) And I’m damned if I’m going to be responsible for creating any kind of food or body issues other than positive ones.
– Weigh self in front of nephew. I need to weigh in tomorrow for my coach. I’m not doing it til nephew has gone to his swimming lesson. See points above ^^^
– Stay up late watching Netflix. Go to bed.

The Nephew Workout revisited is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

5 Responses to The Nephew Workout revisited

  1. zeb says:

    Nothing wrong with letting him see you weighing food – turn it into a game, explain the numbers on the scales, what ‘weight’ means, why you should eat lots of broccoli, how all foods are good in moderation, weigh lots of other things and see which are heavier and which are lighter…. It’s all good learning and experimenting 🙂

    Also, well done you. Small children are rewarding but exhausting at the best of times. I have no idea how you’re doing it in your pre/post competition state! My eldest could tire out the Duracell Bunny.

    Like

  2. polifinario4 says:

    I think this is good advice for non-body-building aunties, too! 🙂

    Like

  3. […] posts: The Nephew Workout when he was a baby (we’ve both grown since then LOL!) and The Nephew Workout revisited when he came to stay with me when I was just a few days out from a bodybuilding […]

    Like

  4. […] at 10 weeks old, he barely batted a baby eyelash when I did an entire Nephew Workout using him as a […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

