Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Gorilla Sports ankle weights

I do a lot of walking. In fact, most of the cardio I do for my bodybuilding prep is simply… walking. Fast walking (the dog sometimes struggles to keep up) but still – it’s walking.

gorilla sports

That’s why, when Gorilla Sports sent me a pair of their new ankle weights, I was able to put them to use straight away. Ideal for adding a bit of extra work to some of my twice-daily walks, and therefore a bit of extra oomph to my prep.

Gorilla Sports are a great online source of professional gym equipment at really good prices. Check out their website for high quality equipment for at-home workouts or for kitting out a home gym (or a professional gym – do I have any gym owner readers?) There’s weights, medicine balls, kettlebells, barbells, benches, loads of accessories including weighted vests, lifting belts and gloves – just about anything you could want, to be honest. Have a look.

Back to my ankle weights – I’m finding them pretty easy to wear and use. They took a little getting used to, just because it feels a bit weird having a weight on your ankles. You kind of have to start walking, get into a rhythm, and keep going, using the extra momentum from the weights. I guess you could also use them for bodyweight exercises, hanging leg raises and reverse hypers? (Ooh, I’ve just given myself an idea there… )

358

Gorilla Sports sent me a pair of 2kgs ankle weights, which are pretty hefty and certainly feel like they’re making me and my legs work harder. However, I spoke to a fellow female bodybuilder this week who also walks with ankle weights for cardio, and she told me she wears a pair of 5kgs ankle weights! I now feel a bit puny LOL! 😉 Bit up yo bad self, Madam, you know who you are!

Thank you, Gorilla Sports folk, for sending me such a nice bit of great quality home exercise kit. Readers, do click through and have a look around the Gorilla Sports website, I bet you’ll find plenty there you could put to good use!

You can follow Gorilla Sports on Twitter and like Gorilla Sports on Facebook.

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Gorilla Sports ankle weights is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

2 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Gorilla Sports ankle weights

  1. Minstrelcat says:

    That’s a good idea. I’m running out if ways to do cardio that doesn’t make one bit or other of my body hurt, so making walking more of a workout would be handy.

    Like

Please leave a reply

