Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Absorice rice and pea protein powder

absorice_logo

Here’s the latest fitness kit I’ve reviewed this week – non-dairy protein powder from Absorice.

Absorice is a vegan rice and pea protein blend and, as such, is “clean” (apologies if you hate the term), natural and hypoallergenic. Plant proteins tend not to cause any of the digestive issues which some people encounter with milk proteins (whey, casein): bloating, gas etc.

absorice protein review

Me? I like plant-based protein powders because I find them tastier, thicker, and a better “mouth feel” (check me out going “Masterchef” all up in your face!) I’m not vegan, I don’t have any digestive issues with whey, I just prefer plant based protein powders if I have the choice.

It’s sometimes tricky to keep up with all the fitness kit I’ve reviewed this week posts I owe you (not to mention that I owe PRs, brand managers and business owners!) Because I’m dieting for the BNBF Finals, there’s very little “extra” I can fit into my diet plan. I just don’t have the wiggle room.

But I took a look at the Absorice label and realised I could test it out, even at a few weeks away from the Finals, no problem. Here are the stats for the vanilla flavour (it also comes in strawberry and chocolate).
absorice protein vegan

Per 30g serving:
112.5kcals
21.6g protein
3.4g carbs (0.3g sugars)
0.9g fat
2.6g fibre

What’s in it? Pea protein, rice protein, bamboo fibre (that’s a new one on me!), flavouring, carob powder, cellulose gum and steviol glycosides. Rice protein by itself is pretty low in lysine, so adding pea protein brings the amino acids up to optimal levels. Have you ever looked into how rice and pea protein powder stands up against whey when it comes to amino acid profile… ?

What’s not in it: gluten, corn, soy, wheat, yeast, dairy, egg, sugar, starch, preservatives or salt, artificial colours or sweeteners.

Absorice protein powders are vegan, non GMO, made in the EU and deliver a 72% net protein content. And of course, being plant based, they’re ecologically sound, coming from a renewable source which takes much less of a toll on the planet than dairy production (or corn production for that matter).

I’ve been using it before bed, either in place of casein or mixed in 50/50. It’s delicious, thick and creamy and definitely keeps me feeling full and satisfied even though I am dieting hard at the moment.
8177nAGkf0L._SL1500_

There was just one thing I didn’t like about it: the smaller size comes in a box (a bag within a box) which was messy to open, tricky to seal and – at least until I’d made a bit of a dent in the contents – quite a faff to scoop out. However the larger size comes in a tub and of course that would do away with all those problems. I imagine the Absorice team put the smaller size of product in a box for easier storage, transportation, stacking and better recycling? Which is great. But it is quite messy to get to grips with until you’ve used a bit from the bag!

Absorice is a Hungarian brand but you can get it over here, via Amazon (and it’s eligible for free delivery too). So no problem getting hold of it.
Absorice on amazon.co.uk

Thanks, Absorice people!

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Absorice rice and pea protein powder is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

3 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Absorice rice and pea protein powder

  1. Oooh, that sounds interesting. I had some whey “fluff” the other week (and I used to have the same whey in shakes after the gym without issue, but haven’t for months) and it made me sick. Don’t know if it was the dairy, or that Chris had whizzed it up too much with the new stick blender and so I swallowed too much air! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. hififi says:

    Sounds good & nice & green & ethical πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

Please leave a reply

