One more comp… and it’s a good ‘un!

So, that thing about having done my last bodybuilding competition for the season ?

“That’s me done for the season now – no more competitions planned….”

Turns out that’s not the case.

I’ll be putting on the tan and sparkly suit one more time this year… in America!

20131005-091907.jpg

This is a blog post I never thought I’d be writing! I’m excited to share the news with you: I have been selected to join the UK team going over to the INBF and WNBF Worlds in Boston (Massachusetts, not Boston Spa hee hee) to compete on 9th November.

This is “dream come true” territory, folks…

I placed 3rd at the UKDFBA open championships last weekend (the winner of my class got her WNBF Pro card that day) but the organiser of that show, and the guy who selects the UK team for the WNBF Worlds, called me and said he would like to take me as the team’s amateur female bodybuilding representative.

Competing overseas, and for a WNBF Pro card, has been my dream and my ultimate goal in this sport.

So I accepted with thanks immediately!

I then walked around the gym car park (I’d been about to start training when I got the call) with my hands on the top of my head, in disbelief. I then went to train, and laugh/cried between sets. I then went back out to my car… to see that I’d left the keys in the ignition and the doors unlocked. I’d been a bit distracted as I parked up… !

So, I’ll be competing in Worcester, MA, in the INBF Worlds (the amateur part of the WNBF) on Saturday 9th November as the team’s only amateur female bodybuilder (no pressure… haha….) What’s at stake? The winner of my class takes the amateur World title and the offer of a WNBF Pro card.

Wow!

Stay tuned…. for now I’d like to thank Lee Kemp and all at the UKDFBA for this amazing opportunity.

One more comp… and it’s a good ‘un is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

20131005-091907.jpg

10 Responses to One more comp… and it’s a good ‘un!

  1. Claire says:

    Amazing! Well done! Such great news!!! Looking forward to following your journey ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Helen says:

    OMG! That’s so amazing for you ๐Ÿ™‚ Congratulations. You will smash it!

    Like

  3. Emma says:

    This is the first time I’ve ever commented on someone’s blog before, but I felt compelled to comment. I started reading your blog a few months ago and have slowly gone back through all your old posts to read them too. I love your style of writing and how honest you are. After reading some of your lows it is lovely to read this amazing piece of news. A massive well done and can’t wait to hear your journey to America!

    Like

    • Nicola Joyce says:

      Aw thanks Emma, I feel honoured! What a lovely comment – and thank you for reading back through the blog. I do tend to “just write” – I rarely reread what I’ve written before hitting publish (unless it’s a product review). Glad it works!

      Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚ Nic

      Like

  4. Gill says:

    Brilliant news Nic. Can’t wait to read all about it

    Like

  5. […] to sleep, you get to peel the next “count down” sticker off your bathroom wall… the Worlds are getting closer… you made it through another day on […]

    Like

  6. […] 4th (of 5!) athletic comp 4) UKDFBA Open – 3rd place bodybuilding A few days later, I was invited to be the amateur female bodybuilder on Team UK at the INBF Worlds! Getting that phone call was one of the best moments of my year and I think I’ll remember it […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

