A World Champion… me… really?

Yes, really. It still feels bizarre to type “World Champion” and “me” in the same sentence, but it’s true, so I’d better get used to it πŸ™‚

IMG_0448

This is just a quick post after the INBF World Championships last weekend. Partly because I wanted to get a blog post up before too much time elapsed, but mainly because I still don’t know where to start when it comes to writing about the entire experience.

Perhaps you can post any questions in the comments; it might help me know how to tackle the task of writing about it!

To cut a long, wonderful, memorable story short:

I went with the UK Team to compete at the WNBF and INBF Worlds in the USA last weekend. The INBF is the amateur half of the federation (the WNBF is where the Pros compete). I was the only amateur female bodybuilding competitor on the UK team (there were 12 of us in all, including male and female Pro athletes, a female amateur figure and fit body competitor, and male amateurs across the age and weight classes).

I weighed in at 124lbs, which placed me in the heavyweight female bodybuilding class (they split us at 118lbs).

On the day of the competition, shortly before going on stage, I found out I was the one and only HW competitor 😦 I was disappointed (and saddened) because I wanted some competition, and didn’t want to be on stage by myself. It’s a long way to go, and a lot of prep, to “win by default”. But I can’t control who doesn’t turn up on the day, and who doesn’t compete in qualifiers and national finals, and who doesn’t get selected for the other countries’ teams.

So I went on stage as the only HW competitor (they did end up putting the LWs and me on together, so at least I was on stage with others, although we were still being judged as two separate classes).

So, yes, I won the World HW title too, but I was the only competitor.

However, the real competition of the day for me was the over all. I would be up against the LW winner later on in the day to contest the over all and to push for the World title. I’ve never competed in an over all before, never gone back on stage for a second time against just one other person, never been in the position of knowing it’s either me or her who will get that main title.

I did it… and I won! I can’t remember the moment when my number was called, but I can remember feeling joy, elation, disbelief, excitement, relief and… I dunno! Everything! πŸ˜€

Winning the over all meant I became the INBF World female bodybuilding champion for the year. πŸ˜€ It’s been my dream, my goal and part of what I’ve been working towards for the last two years of my time in this sport. The other part – WNBF Pro status – is now next year’s focus πŸ™‚

That’s enough for now, jetlag is pressing on my eyelids and telling me it’s time for bed.

I’ll be getting official stage and backstage “mini photoshoot” images shortly and will share some with you.

In the meantime, if you do have any questions about the comp, the build up, the weekend with the team, my plans moving forward or anything else, please do leave a comment. It might help me write a better post-comp review when I have more energy!

Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart for all your support, enthusiasm, interest, good lucks and congratulations.

A World Champion… me… really? is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

28 Responses to A World Champion… me… really?

  1. Rachel says:

    Woohoo such an amazing feat – you were so excited just to be selected and then you went and won the damn thing, such an inspiration! I want to know everything about the comp – what was the backstage atmosphere like, what was the process that you had to go through to prove you were natural? PS some of the guys on your team are ridiculously good looking, phew!!

    Like

  2. cornishtim says:

    Amazing Nic. What next?

    Like

  3. CultFit says:

    Awesome performance, well done!!!

    Like

  4. Congratulations.. I can really appreciate all the hard work you put into that win.

    Like

  5. Very well done ‘World Champion’. Enjoy πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Tara says:

    Amazing, Nic!! If you’re a “heavyweight” above 118lbs, then lord help me! Congrats xx

    Like

  7. Monique HOllinshead says:

    What I find quite incredible is how you have managed to sculpt your body over the years to perform several different functions, from triathlon, to channel swimmer to body builder quite some feat. Maybe you could write about that. In these days of body dis morphia I think you are an example of how our bodies are tools to make perform how we see fit. It is sad that impossible and unrealistic images are portrayed as something to aspire to through all the photoshopping and airbrushing done by the media. You are an example of how being in control reaps rewards.

    Like

  8. Evei says:

    We’ll done nic ,I know ex how you feel,I was there last year,….I placed 7th in the world,they didn’t have sep classes thou,I had eleven in mine,I was so proud just too be there.well done again.xx

    Like

  9. So proud of you! How did the atmosphere at a US show compare to the UK? In my head it should have been all glamour and spotlights πŸ˜‰

    What sort of turnout from competitors was there? Were there people from all over the world? Was there a big audience – had people travelled to support the finals?

    How did you manage your food and water intake on the plane? I was surprised that you were allowed to bring your trophy back in your hand luggage – she’d make a good club if you were so inclined!

    Like

    • Nicola Joyce says:

      Thank you guys so much for everything, you have supported me almost right from the beginning and I appreciate it. I’ll try to answer your Qs in my next post πŸ˜€ Watch your postbox too…. x

      Like

  10. Congratulations! I won my first national level BB class because I was the only MW but I did not work any less thinking I would be the only one! You put in the work—be proud!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  11. whosthebitch says:

    “only one in …”a class”?!…Erm -winner…”
    how does that sound now?

    Like

  12. Congratulations Nicola, you’ve worked really hard and to be overall winner is something you should take great pride in. Enjoy the moment!

    Like

  13. […] my previous blog post, I asked if you had any questions about the INBF Worlds, my prep, off-season, and my plans for […]

    Like

  14. Congratulations! It’s been really interesting and inspiring following your journey, a well deserved win πŸ™‚ x

    Like

  15. […] was the first show of the year for me, and my first since the INBF Worlds last November. You can read about my goals and aims for the show in this blog post – prep […]

    Like

  16. […] I can’t remember when I first met him, but we became firm friends on that trip out to the WNBF Worlds in Boston in 2013. I remember thinking (shame on me!) that I couldn’t possibly be friends with a young […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

