Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Nutribox (and reader discount)

Now that I’m no longer dieting down for bodybuilding shows, I can begin to plough through the queue of “edible” items which have been patiently waiting for review!

In today’s fitness kit I’ve reviewed is a delicious bundle of yumminess which was delivered to my door some time ago: a Nutribox. The Nutribox service offers a range of boxes packed with delicious and nutritious snacks (all made with gluten free ingredients) delivered free every month.

Every item in the various Nutriboxes have been selected by Peter and the team (where possible from small, UK, artisan producers) and are nutritionally dense, tasty and made from gluten-free ingredients, making Nutribox a great choice for people who want energy snacks but follow a particular diet or lifestyle way of eating such as paleo/primal, raw or vegan.

I was sent a Sports Nutrition mini-box, but you could choose to receive the Classic box (energy bars, dried fruit and nut mixes and some raw chocolate), a larger box (with extras including vegetable and fruit crisps) a Vegan box (no animal-based products or by-products of course).

If you decide you’d like to place an order, you can grab 35% off with our discount code (thank you, Nutribox people): just put NICOLA35 in the discount codes box on the Nutribox website.

Here’s pup helping me to open it (and obscuring the address label)
IMG_6429

What’s in the box?
IMG_6430

Pup spotted something he fancied (ahem)
IMG_6431

IMG_6433

Here’s what I got
IMG_6434
Unpictured seed flapjack from Seed Stacked (that’s the one which pup told me I had to sample)
Some Ludlow Company marvellous macadamias (sadly macadamias are one nut which just doesn’t float my boat, but I’m sure they’re as marvellous as a macadamia can be)
Golden berries from Clearly Scrumptious (aka physalis) – I might try these in a protein baking recipe
Two Bounce balls
Raw choc brownie, protein snack bar and protein sport crisp bar from Pulsin’
Nut and seed bar from Creative Nature
And an acai berry bar from Beond

So as you can see, lots of focus on raw, organic, minimally-processed products, with a greater amount of protein and less carbohydrates (certainly less carbs from refined sugars and starches) than more commercial or bigger-brand energy bars, sweets and chocolate bars.

My verdict? It’s great to have the option of healthier snacks delivered to your door, but only you know if you could ration yourself on this stuff. Ultimately, yes these bars are a lot healthier, and are made with healthier ingredients and more thought for your long-term health (than other energy bars, snacks and sweets). But they’re still very nutritionally dense (aka calorific), and they do still contain sugar. What I’m saying is: yes, they’re healthier and better for you than other choices. They’re a good swap for choc bars, biscuits and highly-processed goodies made of refined ingredients (or ingredients we can’t even pronounce!) But they’re still treats. So, bear that in mind, enjoy them as such, and discover some new favourites 🙂

I know I will be!

Thank you Nutribox people! for my sample Nutribox, and for the 35% discount code for my readers!

You can follow Nutribox on Twitter and like Nutribox on Facebook.

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Nutribox (and reader discount) is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

Please leave a reply

