Training update: what’s next?

“What’s next?” is what a lot of people are asking me, now my 2013 bodybuilding season is over.

“Time for a bit of a rest?” No way! (a rest from competition dieting, yes. But a rest from training? No. This post-diet period is a great time to train nice and heavy, to make the most of the rebound, to allow the body to recover fully from tough sessions, and to enjoy the sensation of being able to train with plenty of strength and energy)

So, what’s next for me is another comp, but something a bit different. I’m planning on doing a powerlifting meet, but only a single lift.

In powerlifting, lifters usually do three lifts: benchpress, squat and deadlift.

I’ll just be doing the deadlift (I’ve chosen to do this because my deadlift is already strong enough for a powerlifting meet, whereas my bench and squat aren’t, and I don’t feel I have the time to properly train for the other two, given how short a bodybuilding off-season really is).

I don’t have any expectations, and I’m not doing it with any result in mind. I just love deadlifting, really enjoy training for this lift, and fancy doing it in a competition setting. Having this goal will give my training a specific focus, and training for deadlift will definitely benefit my physique for bodybuilding purposes too.

deadlift powerlifer bodybuilder
Having said that, I do have some numbers in mind: I have deadlifted 140kgs in the past, and I lifted 130kgs for a two reps last week in training. So, I’d like to think I could lift 140kgs in the comp, but I’m also aware that nerves could get the better of me. I’ve never been to a powerlifting comp and don’t really know how it will all feel, lifting on a platform, with a referee giving the official signals etc.

The meet in at the end of January, so only 5 or 6 weeks away. Just enough time to ramp up my deadlift training, perhaps test my max, and then get ready for the meet.

After that… who knows what will be next? πŸ˜‰

What are you training for at the moment? Do you have any races, meets, events coming up?

Training update: what’s next? is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

3 Responses to Training update: what’s next?

  1. Tara says:

    I’m so excited for you! If I had more certainty about being in the UK at that point, I’d consider the comp myself. I think you will easily get 140kg, if not more, in competition mode. The adrenaline really kicks in and you can achieve things you never thought possible!

    Like

  2. […] per my most recent update, I’m still planning on doing a deadlift-only powerlifting meet (or just doing a deadlift at a […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

