Will you be exercising on Christmas Day?

Two more sleeps! 😉

Will you be training or exercising on Christmas Day?

There are typically two responses to that question: “hell yes! The gym is open at 6am and I’ll be there at 5:59am ready to smash legs and kill it like the warrior I am” (etc) or “erm… no. It’s Christmas Day. I’m hoping for lie-in and when I do get up I’ll have Bucks Fizz with breakfast”.

How about a middle ground?

I do think it’s important to be active on Christmas Day, if you can. There’s no need to go to the gym, or take hours out of the day to head off by yourself for a run. But equally I don’t think it’s good for the body (or soul) to be inside all day.

Back in my endurance sport days, I would always go out for a very short run/jog on Christmas morning. It was one of my favourite runs of the year. It didn’t impact on the social side of Christmas Day and didn’t stop me from helping out, or hosting, or enjoying Christmas. In fact, it added to my personal enjoyment of Christmas because it was my own little tradition.

I’d get up, have a cuppa with family and then, whilst they were having their showers and getting dressed, I’d go out for a 30 minute run. I’d be back almost before anyone realised I’d even left, and grab my shower just as I would have done if I’d stayed in.

I loved those Christmas morning runs because the streets were quiet and the atmosphere was happy. If I did meet another runner, or a cyclist, dog walker, horse rider or rambler, they would without fail be cheerful and smiling. If I ran down residential streets, I could peek into people’s front windows to see lovely Christmas scenes.

Nowadays I don’t run much, but I do walk a lot (the dog wouldn’t have it any other way). So, this year, I’ll head out for a lovely dog walk on Christmas morning and enjoy it as I used to enjoy my Christmas morning runs. I’ll just be less sweaty by the end (one would hope).

If I was by myself on Christmas morning and going to family (or having family over) for lunch, I would consider going to train at the gym if there was one open.

So there’s no right or wrong about how to be active on Christmas Day. But I would recommend it.

– go to the gym if it’s open and if a gym visit would suit your schedule
– head out for a run or bike ride if you can fit it in
– grab 30 minutes to do a bodyweight session at home
– use home kit if you’ve got it: kettlebells, resistance bands, suspension trainer, bulgarian bag (or whatever you’ve got)
– head outside with friends and family if the weather’s fine
– go for a walk – or two!

Do you have a tradition of exercising on Christmas Day?

Whatever you’re up to I hope you have a very happy day 🙂

Will you be exercising on Christmas Day? is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

5 Responses to Will you be exercising on Christmas Day?

  1. […] whose blog The Fit Writer I really enjoy for its thoughtful, measured, and articulate posts, had beaten me to it! Which is fine when you want something to argue with, but I actually agree with everything she […]

    Like

  2. Ha I was planning to write a similar post but you beat me to it! Gave you credit in my post though 🙂 Hope you have a wonderful Christmas, dog-walk and all! x

    Like

  3. I haven’t worked out on Christmas Day before but I think I will after reading this 🙂

    Like

Please leave a reply

