Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Fage (Total) Greek yoghurt

Want to hear a funny story about yoghurt? Maybe it’s one of those “you had to be there…” funny stories but I’m going to tell you anyway.

When Fage (the people who make Total Greek Yoghurt Facebook) offered to send me a generous delivery of yoghurts, I gladly accepted (I love Greek yoghurt). But I told them it would need to arrive by a specific date. At the time, I was still dieting for bodybuilding shows (and don’t eat dairy whilst dieting down), and the plan was that I’d have one of the little yoghurts as soon as I got off-stage as a lovely treat.

Due to a mix up in communication, the delivery didn’t arrive. The kind PR lady arranged for it to be sent again.

The second order arrived. But…er… so did the first order. All of a sudden I had more than 10kgs of Total Greek yoghurt: big pots, little pots, 0% fat free, 2%, full fat, plain ones, honey ones, ones with fruit in the bottom.

(I wish I’d taken a photo but I think I was too shocked. Have you ever seen what nearly 11kgs yoghurt looks like in various different sizes of pot?)

So far, so funny. Ahhhh, but then I qualified for the INBF Worlds (having told the poor PR lady that I would have finished competing for the year by now!) So, now I had 10+kgs of yoghurt in my house and couldn’t eat any of it.

That night, my neighbours, friends and family were visited by the Dairy Fairy. And I prepped onwards towards the Worlds.

Anyway to cut a long story short, I did eventually stop dieting for bodybuilding shows and contacted Total’s PR lady again to see if she was still willing to send me yoghurt. Evidently she has the patience of a saint, because she sent me another (smaller!) delivery of individual 170g pot of 0%, 2% and full-fat Total.

photo

So (finally) I get to blog about the yoghurts! This review was meant to be part of Total’s #TryTotal social media campaign but frankly I think it’s far too late for that (sorry, Total people).

I absolutely love Total and eat the plain yoghurt most days. My preference is the 2% one for eating plain or the full-fat one for cooking with (I stir a bit into sauces or add it into cooked rice). Total Greek yoghurt contains more protein than any other yoghurt we can buy here in the UK, which makes it a great choice for us bodybuilder-y types (and for anyone who wants to include more protein in their diet – which is probably most people). My review yoghurts came via Ocado but you can find Total in most supermarkets.

Here’s how I enjoyed my many little pots of Total:

– with frozen berries and broken up bits of very dark chocolate
– with a tsp nut butter or tahini on top
– with protein powder stirred through (casein works well)
– with flax stirred in (the ones from Linwoods with bits of berries and nuts are lovely for this)
– a spoonful stirred into hot grains like rice and oats

Total really were very good about the whole yoghurty confusion, and very patient about the delayed review! So please go and visit them on social media:
Total Greek yoghurt Twitter
Total Greek Yoghurt Facebook
Total Greek Yoghurt YouTube
Total Greek Yoghurt Instagram
or Total Greek Yoghurt Pinterest

Thank you for (all!) the samples, Total/Fage people!

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Fage (Total) Greek yoghurt is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

2 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Fage (Total) Greek yoghurt

  1. Sally says:

    Lucky you! I really love the 2% – it is definitely my favourite. I like it with toasted pecans and a bit of maple syrup, yum. I wish they sold it everywhere, and in the smaller size.

    Like

Please leave a reply

