Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Tom Oliver Omega 3 supplement

I’m not very good at taking supplements regularly. But when Tom Oliver Nutrition asked me to try out his new Omega 3 MOPL Herring Caviar supplement (you had me at “caviar”) I said yes please. There are a few dietary supplements which I think would benefit almost everyone, and omega 3s are one of them.

tom oliver omega 3 caviar

I was particularly interested in trying this supplement because, at the end of 2013, I was really suffering badly with some kind of hand/thumb tendon issue (RSI from typing, I think). I also end up with pretty dry skin when I’m dieting for bodybuilding competitions. The team behind the supplement told me that not only were they hearing the kind of anecdotal feedback you’d expect (better skin, nails and hair), they were seeing improved muscle fatigue after training and less joint pain from arthritis sufferers.

Tom Oliver is an ex-rugby player and now a Personal Trainer. He’s worked with Dr Alvin Berger to develop this product (Dr Berger has been a leading name in fish oil and phospholipids research since the early 1980s – 80 published papers and 12 patents).

What makes this supplement different to other omega 3s we can get in the UK is that it has three times as much DHA (300mg/g) and phospholipids. It contains omega 3s, DHA and EPA (essential fatty acids). And it uses premium marine bio-active oil from herring Caviar! Nothing but the best for my poorly thumb tendon šŸ˜‰

In case you’re worried about the fishing process (or the herring themselves): the caviar comes from fish which have already been caught by MSC-certified fisheries (so no extra fishing activity is necessary for this product).

You take one capsule a day – easy for me to remember! – and they are tasteless (with no “aftertaste” aka fish-oil burps).

I’ll be perfectly honest, I wasn’t expecting to be able to give much in the way of a review. I mean, a fish oil is a fish oil right?

However! The pain in my hand – which was really debilitating, to the point that it had me in tears and meant I couldn’t do a full day’s work by the end of each week – has gone. Not just a bit, but completely. I haven’t been to a physio, I haven’t done anything proactive like icing it or resting it. Is it down to the Tom Oliver omega 3s? I can’t say for sure but all I can say is that the tendon pain was awful, then I started taking the supplement, and now it is barely noticeable. No pain, no limited movement, just a bit of stiffness sometimes.

For that alone I thank Tom and his team! I can write (and hold a barbell) without pain and if it’s because of the omega 3 supplement then I’m happy to shout about it.

Thank you for the samples, Tom Oliver and co!

You can follow Tom Oliver on Twitter and like Tom Oliver on Facebook.

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Tom Oliver Omega 3 supplement is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

2 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Tom Oliver Omega 3 supplement

  1. […] Fitness kit Iā€™ve tested this week: Tom Oliver Omega 3 supplementĀ is a post fromĀ The Fit Writer blog. […]

    Like

  2. Devis renovation

    Fitness kit IĀ’ve tested this week: Tom Oliver Omega 3 supplement | The Fit Writer Nicola Joyce

    Like

Please leave a reply

