Training with WNBF Pro Richard Gozdecki at the UKDFBA Caledonian Classic

I’m shattered!

I was away last weekend at the UKDFBA (United Kingdom Drug-Free Bodybuilding Association) Caledonian Classic, a 500-mile round trip from Kent to Livingston in Scotland. I wasn’t competing, I was actually the other side of the judges’ table this time, delighted (and honoured) to be one of the panel of judges who got to scrutinise the athletes’ hard work up close. Best seat in the house! The show was the UKDFBA‘s first show outside England, and it was a resounding success with both competitors and spectators (tickets sold out weeks ago). I had a fantastic time meeting back up with some of my Team UK buddies, supporting the UKDFBA and judging. Well done to everyone.

10375610_301300846713801_667883881_n

That’s not why I’m shattered though.

Another member of the UKDFBA “family” is WNBF Heavyweight Pro and former WNBF World Overall winner Richard Gozdecki. I’m not sure how I got myself into it, but I found myself training (legs, what else?) with Big Rich early on Saturday morning before the show. He’d never trained with a female before, so he told me. I channeled my inner Beyonce and represented for all womankind.

10432048_556404827801655_1529941539_n

Evidently I didn’t do too badly because Rich then suggested we train again on Sunday morning, after a long day at the show on Saturday, and before a very long drive home. Sure! I’m hardly going to pass up that kind of opportunity.

Want to know what we did? I’ll tell you. Although I should point out that we were only able to use the kit and equipment available to us (one commercial/chain gym and one hotel gym). Richard’s own gym – The Workout Mill in Leamington Spa – is his usual training ground. And Rich says to also say that we were up against the clock both times because he had to get breakfast before the kitchen stopped serving! ;D

Before I left:
I received the following ominous whatsapp

“Things you’ll need:
Hot pants or bright leggings
Lifting belt
Lifting shoes
Sick bag
Spare pair of knickers
Water
Oxygen
Baseball cap (essential)
And a huge pair of balls”

Well. Hot pants would not be happening at this early stage of a diet, although I do own a fine selection of jazzy leggings. My belt perished in The Great Mould Incident of 2013. Shoes are Converse or Vibrams. Women don’t puke (we leave that to the men). We do however sometimes wee ourselves, so he got that bit right. Water and oxygen go without saying, as does the hat (I have many). And huge pair of balls is not a problem (although please rest assured I am a drug-free bodybuilder!)

10413243_269004073285931_458076254_n

Before our sessions, Richard kindly mixed me up his own blend of USN goodies so I could sample the combo he uses as a pre workout (he is sponsored by USN): anabolic nitro-X, BCAA amino gro, and glutamine.

Here’s what we did, working with the kit available, and somewhat up against that breakfast clock:

Calves and quads
– Calf raise/toe press on leg press – 2 warm up sets, then 4 x 20 working sets (heavy!)
– Rotary calf superset with stretches/standing on your toes (no idea how many sets – lots – 4-5)
– Leg extension – 2 warm up sets then 3 x 12/12 rep dropsets, then a 36 rep triple dropset (working fast on these)
– Plate loaded leg press 4-5 (?) sets of 20 reps (heavy!)
– Then the real work started: barbell back squats – 3 working sets, climbing in weight, then a triple drop set from the top weight (I got 32 reps out). Rich did 100kgs more than me and he wasn’t working at 100% ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Shoulders
– Standing dumbbell laterals to warm up, then 5 x 15/15 rep dropsets
– Explosive seated DB laterals (never done these before!) 2 sets of 12
– Cable laterals 4 x 12-15
– Giant set of 2 types of cable face pulls, then seated dumbbell rear delts (15 reps) – 4 or 5 sets of this
– Seated overhead press type machine (not sure what make) lots of sets, climbing in weight, until we really had to go so Rich could get breakfast with his Mrs!

Heaviest and hardest I’ve gone on shoulders in a long time, thank you Rich!

The following day, another of our WNBF Pro bodybuilders – Gordie Adam – who was the UKDFBA’s “man on the ground” up in Livingston, popped into the gym where we’d done legs. Apparently the staff were talking about how much of a machine I was, going at it like-for-like with Rich and smashing it. Thank you to the kind staff at Bannatyne’s Livingston. The cheque is in the post. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Did you have a great weekend? Did you compete at the UKDFBA Caledonian Classic, or come along to watch? Are your quads as sore as mine?

Training with WNBF Pro Richard Gozdecki at the UKDFBA Caledonian Classic is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

6 Responses to Training with WNBF Pro Richard Gozdecki at the UKDFBA Caledonian Classic

  1. Trish says:

    Jealous much

    Like

  2. Lucy says:

    oh wow – it must have been intense if you needed a sick bag!

    Like

  3. […] the pleasure of training with Rich a few times now: at The Mill, and whilst we were all up at the UKDFBA’s Caledonian Classic show a couple of years ago. Rich knows what I’m capable of and we seem to get along well […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

