Macros and the bigger picture

honeyfly

I’ve got a story to tell you this evening.

The other day, I was on a long walk with my dog. We were pretty much in the middle of nowhere (well, as far as the Kent Downs allow) and the only souls in sight.

Then I saw a chap crouching down, peering at a spot on the ground. He had some pretty hefty photography equipment set up. Being the nosy curious person I am (occupational hazard), I asked him what he was taking photos of. “Just this flower,” he said. “Oh, I thought maybe you’d found some mega-rare newt or something,” I replied (no, I don’t know why I thought of a newt, either).

“I’m just playing around with macros,” said the chap.

Macros. That little word which means so very much to us in the fitness industry. IIFYM. What’s your macro split? Have you met your macros today? What are your macros?

It’s a word we use so often, it needs no explanation.

At least… to us.

For this photographer guy, the word macros means something else entirely. And he probably has no idea what his own macros are, maybe he doesn’t even know what the three macronutrients are and – if he does – he probably doesn’t care.

I’m not saying that we shouldn’t care about our macros. After all, for those of us serious about body composition, physique sports and nutrition, macros do matter. In general, I think it’s a positive thing if you know the makeup of what you’re eating.

But the encounter with the photographer so absorbed in the details of that flower made me realise: the macros that matter so very much to us in the fitness industry really mean very little to a lot of other people. For the photographer, it’s about fine and tiny detail in extreme close up. To us, it’s about three big all-encompassing nutritional behemoths.

So, fitness industry, maybe it’s time to tear our eyes away from the detail of our own macros (and everything else) so we can spend more time looking at the bigger picture. Looking through someone else’s lens from time to time is refreshing.

Macros and the bigger picture is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

Please leave a reply

