Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: myvitamins.com BCAA powder

Today’s fitness kit I’ve reviewed this week: BCAAs powder (2:1:1) from myvitamins.com.
powdered BCAAs
I was contacted by myvitamins.com – an online store which offers a range of fitness, health & beauty products – to see if I’d sample and review some of their goodies. I explained I was deep in contest prep but that I could probably stretch to BCAAs.

As I’m sure most of my readers know, BCAAs (branch chain amino acids) are three amino acids (leucine, iso-leucine and valine). They’re referred to as essential amino acids because the body can’t synthesise them from anywhere else, so we need to get them from diet (difficult, at least in the optimal amounts and ratios) or supplements.

Powdered BCAA is a popular choice with bodybuilders, who often choose to take a serving in water before cardio (particularly fasted cardio) or pre/intra workout. People in muscle and strength sports tend to like BCAAs because these three aminos help protect muscle mass (particularly when in a caloric deficit). And leucine is currently thought to be the mac-daddy of amino acids (it plays a key role in muscle protein synthesis).

myvitamins.com BCAAs are a ratio of 2:1:1, which is what I’d consider a basic or “general” ratio. 4:1:1 and even 8:1:1 BCAAs do exist, but 2:1:1 is the most common ratio.

My feedback? These 2:1:1 BCAAs mixed well, were gently flavoured (berry) and went down the hatch just fine without causing me any digestive issues. And my Mum liked the taste, too (cue a mini monologue on “BCAAs 101” in her kitchen!)

Take a look at the myvitamins.com site – there’s lots on there including a range for active kids.

Thanks, myvitamins.com for the sample (and for your patience in waiting for this review!)

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: myvitamins.com BCAA powder is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

Please leave a reply

