Tested this week: Activate Nutrition Diet whey protein powder

Today’s fitness kit I’ve reviewed this week is a diet whey protein which might be a great fit for your New Year’s Resolutions !
activate-nutrition-diet-protein-plus-38
I was first contacted by Mark, the guy behind Activate Nutrition, via the naturalmuscle forum – turns out we are both members. So that told me straight away that here was a guy who is involved in the gym, bodybuilding and physique sport world, who really understands what we need, and who cares enough to contribute to online forums (as himself, not as his company). A good start!

Mark offered to send me some of Activate’s Diet Whey Protein Plus, which I’ve been using since coming off my contest diet (I didn’t want to add anything new in at the latter stages of prep).

Active Nutrition’s products are all developed, made and tested in Britain and the Diet Whey is part of their weight loss range.

Mark says: “Even though the shake is a ‘diet’ shake, it’s what I use years round. If I’m focusing on gaining more size, then in goes the oats and a spoonful of nut butter! Or sometimes I make flapjacks.”

(I think we might need that recipe, Mark… !)

I haven’t been anything like as creative. I’ve literally been having the protein powder with water as a post-workout protein shake. I’ve noticed that it’s a lot thicker than many other shakes (even just mixed with water). I’m not sure if this is due to the blend of proteins (including whey and casein), but it makes for a great mouthfeel and makes the shake feel more filling, too. It’s very milkshakey!

Here are the nutritionals (per serving of 39g scoop):

kcals: 148
carbs: 3.9g
fat: 1.1g
pro: 30.8g

It has over 79g protein per 100g which – according to the website – is the highest protein content per 100g of any lean/diet protein powder out there.

So what makes this a “diet” shake?

Diet Protein Plus is low in fat and carbs and high in protein, but you’d kind of expect that from anything except an MRP or “mass gainer” type shake. It also contains certain ingredients which claim to assist in the mobilisation and/or “burning” of body fat. These are: CLA (conjugated linoleic acid) at 585mg/serving, Acai Berry 4:1 530mg/serving, Green Tea 156mg/serving, L-Carnitine 195mg/serving and Taurine 1170mg/serving.

Some of these are pretty well researched and are now accepted as helpful to “lean gains” and fat loss efforts (CLA, green tea, l-carnitine). But I know that there are some who are always skeptical about “diet” ingredients in protein powders. As always, best thing is to do your own research about the ingredients and the levels per serving. My best resource for reading up on this kind of thing is examine.com.

I can’t say that I’ve noticed any “diet” effects from this shake but I am not dieting at the moment, and am not using it as any kind of cutting or fat loss nutrition regime.

My personal feeling would be that the CLA and green tea would be helpful to fat loss (in fact, I take both as a supplement in their own right), and the others certainly won’t hurt.

Just one other thing to mention – the protein blend in this product is whey protein concentrate 80, milk protein concentrate 85 (micellar casein) and soy protein isolate 90. I know that some people prefer to avoid soy (whether or not they are correct is another matter and again probably down to personal choice!)

It comes in 6 flavours – I tried the raspberry which I am really enjoying (it’s not a flavour I’d ever choose for myself, so the fact that I like it says a lot!)

Thanks for the protein, Activate Nutrition chaps!

You can find Acvitate Nutrition on Facebook, Google Plus and on Twitter.

Tested this week: Activate Nutrition Diet whey protein powder is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

One Response to Tested this week: Activate Nutrition Diet whey protein powder

Please leave a reply

