50 days… update (one week in)

So, we’ve completed 8 days of our “50 days to fit” challenge (read here to find out what it’s about https://thefitwriter.wordpress.com/2014/12/31/50-days-starting-tomorrow-join-us/) – how is everyone doing?

10864939_1604237123139460_1488535956_n

Rae and I have been in touch via email and whatsapp daily – we both seem to have struggled/breezed through the same days! The rest of us keep in contact by posting our daily check-ins to instagram with the hashtag #50daystofit (makes it very easy to search each others posts and leave comments).

Is it just me, or is Winter particularly… dull this year? It seems as if the dark evenings have been here for a very long time. I’m not usually affected by SAD but have found it difficult to get going in the mornings, and have struggled some evenings too once the sun’s gone down.

F YOU, FOMO!

Did you know? Apparently Saturday (tomorrow) at 4:22pm (those clever PR people know everything!) is when our willpower will be at its lowest, and when the highest number of Brits will ditch their New Year’s Resolutions. Tomorrow and Sunday will see 33% of people give “FOMO” (fear of missing out) as the reason for backing out on their healthy living promises, with eating out the top reason (30%) for the wobble of willpower.

Here’s how I’m getting on with my personal goals:

1) Develop a productive daily routine (incorporating everything I want to get done, from training and cardio, to long dog walks, finance and admin stuff, business stuff, and obviously my work!) – again, something which I don’t have to overthink and which is very productive

Getting there! Back at work properly now after the on/off routine of that New Year week. But I think I’ll find it more easy to leap enthusiastically into my daily routine as daylight hours get longer (hurry up, Spring…) I’d say I’m at 70% with this one.

2) Get into an easy, sustainable off-season eating routine, which helps me meet my training and physique goals until I next diet for a comp

Yep, also getting there. Batch cooking with the slow cooker, trying to stick to good healthy meals (similar to prep diet – ie lots of meat, fish, eggs, veg, potatoes, rice) but just more of it, and a lot more flexibility! I won’t lie, I’m still struggling a little with post-comp “rebound” (physiological, hormonal, behavioural) but I know it happens, and I know it will calm down – if I just take it day by day and don’t make a big deal of it. I’d say I’m at 80% with this one.

3) Drop a little bit of the festive chub 😉

I’m not weighing myself much but have lost a little, and feel much better and look a bit better too. So that’s all good.

4) Go to bed by 10:30, no sitting up late procrastinating, wasting time online etc (a bad habit of mine!)

This is the one I’ve done worst at! I don’t get back from the gym until gone 9 most nights, and then need to eat, shower and like to sit up for a bit just… well… procrasting I suppose! I’d say I’m only at about 20% with this one. Will improve as the 50 days goes on!

5) Strength goals for GVT
– I may tweak these actually as perhaps they’re too low – 45kgs for GVT bench, 70kgs for GVT squat, 40kgs for GVT OHP

Haven’t done any GVT sessions since the 1st Jan so can’t update on these, but am training with the powerlifters at my gym quite frequently so expect I am getting stronger!

You can still join us if you’d like the accountability of the 50 days.. challenge. If you’re on instagram and would like to check in there every day, post one insta pic per day relating to that day’s goals, challenges or successes, using the hashtag #50daystofit (that way, we can find you and cheer you on!) I’m on instagram at thefitwriter instagram.

50 days… update (one week in) is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

2 Responses to 50 days… update (one week in)

  1. nickwhite101 says:

    I think your fitness will greatly improve training with power lifters, and i too am guilty of staying up past my bed time wasting time online. Good luck with it all…I have become addicted to slow cooker meals to help with my fitness training, and quite often we will cook enough for two nights to save on having to cook one night

    Like

Please leave a reply

