UKDFBA – 5th place

You can’t win ’em all, as they say. Indeed you can’t place 2nd, 3rd or even 4th at ’em all.

I owe you a show report, but it’s going to be a very short one because I am disappointed both with the result and with my own performance at last weekend’s UKDFBA bodybuilding show in Rugby.

The show itself was fantastic – very well organised, extremely friendly and with a phenomenal level of competitors (not just in my class – each and every class was amazing).

But I wasn’t so fantastic. I placed 5th in a class of 6. I know, not great. Not great at all. On the plus side (because there’s always got to be a plus side), I have a shiny medal, which is kind of fun. It’s hanging at the top of my stairs with the side which says “5th” turned outwards, so I see it several times a day. Yep, it stings. It needs to.

(There were other plus sides, of course: lots of fun and banter backstage with the other ladies in my class, and with various other friends, a weekend away with my fabulous sister having some quality sister-time, the fun and excitement of competing, which I love regardless of my placing.)

I know what went wrong but I don’t know why… For something which is judged purely on the physical, bodybuilding is one hell of a psychological sport. I have a lot to think about, a lot of coping strategies to develop and also a bit of kindness to find for myself somewhere along the way πŸ˜‰ I’ve had one hell of a year, none of it particularly conducive to a lonely prep and consistent dieting. I’ve done my best but at times that hasn’t been enough, and Saturday was one of those times.

I feel I need to apologise to those friends and family who came so far to watch me give such a below-par performance (some of you getting stuck on the M1 for two hours for the pleasure!)

What’s next? I wrestled with the concept of doing the NPA British Finals in (less than) two weeks. I asked advice, feedback and honest opinions. I took them all on board and spent a tearful evening asking myself if I could, should and wanted to go through two more weeks of prep (and they’d need to be extremely tough two weeks) in order to get on stage again.

The answer is yes. I like to finish things I’ve started, and I know I can be better than I was on Saturday. Whether or not two weeks is enough time to make enough changes remains to be seen, but I’m going to give it my all.

And, just so the Universe knows: next year, I intend to have a more peaceful, balanced, settled background for my prep, thank you very much! πŸ˜‰

Wish me luck as I put my hood up and my headphones on, heading off into two weeks of fish, greens and cardio…

UKDFBA – 5th place is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

9 Responses to UKDFBA – 5th place

  1. Glad you’re going to go for it. You have worked really hard and it is hard when you don’t feel you’ve done yourself justice. As you know, I’ve had more than my share of sporting disappointments – often deserved, sometimes sheer bad luck – so have an idea how you’re feeling. Go, go, go!! We’ll be with you every step of the way.

    Like

  2. Kat says:

    You’re a legend Nic, love you!

    Like

  3. I’m curious – what went wrong?

    Congrats to you on competing, deciding to do it again in 2 weeks AND having such a great attitude!

    Like

  4. Tara says:

    I want to know more details too – you left me in suspense! I think your commitment to the sport speaks loudly in this post, and that’s what you should be proud of. You’ve made it through an incredibly tough year, so getting up on stage not once but three times is an amazing achievement. There are so many other ways you could have handled things, and for that you are truly inspirational xx

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      It’s personal “real life” stuff which I don’t want to and have no intention of putting on the blog – I’m happy to email you privately. It wasn’t meant to be mysterious or left as a cliff hanger, it’s just part of my life which has no place on social media.

      Yep, at times gin has seemed very appealing (joke) (I prefer vodka) so I guess in the context of how I could have responded, it’s all good. Just not good enough for the BB stage on this occasion!

      One more try to get it right…

      Thanks xx

      Like

  5. […] done and there were days when I thought about jacking it all in. After my atrocious performance at the UKDFBA, I thought very hard about carrying on for one more show, and asked a lot of people’s advice. […]

    Like

Please leave a reply

