Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Kinetica Pre Fuel

I make no secret of the fact that I love a pre-workout. Some may think they’re no better than an espresso and some BCAAs, some may even think they’re no more than a placebo. I don’t care! Give me the espresso, then pass me the pre-workout please.

And there are some days when you just need that extra buzz. Today was one of those days. First day back at work after a long Bank Holiday weekend, the lingering effects of a bit too much sun, and the prospect of 5×8 deadlifts whilst at the sharp end of a pre-contest diet. I had an espresso. It barely touched the sides. Time for the big guns.

kinetica pre fuel review

Happily, my friends at Kinetica Sports recently sent me some samples of their new pre-workout formula “Pre Fuel”. Perfect timing! We like Kinetica – high quality products, good formulas, and safe for tested, natural athletes (each product in the Kinetica range is safe
-batch tested against WADA (World Anti Doping Agency) guidelines). In fact, the “clean” nature of Pre Fuel is a big factor in the marketing surrounding this new product.

1373560253-54938300

What’s in Pre Fuel?

BCAAs (branched chain amino acids) – Isoleucine, leucine, valine
Amino blend (5.8g per 10g serving) – Citrulline malate, l arginine, beta alanine, l tyrosine, l carnitine, l tartrate and taurine
B vitamins, including B12 (which reduces fatigue)
Caffeine (94mg per serving)

What’s not in it?
Carbohydrates, sugar, gluten, aspartame, anything on the WADA banned list.

Per 10g serving

BCAA (leucine, isoleucine, valine) 2.3 g
Aminos (citrulline malate, l arginine, beta alanine, l tyrosine, l carnitine, l tartrate, taurine) 5.8 g
Caffeine 94 mg
Calcium 200
Magnesium 187.5
Vitamins (% of RDA)
Vitamin B1 (Thiamine) 100%
Vitamin B3 (Niacin) 469%
Vitamin B5 (Pantothenic Acid) 104%
Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine) 89%
Vitamin B7 (Biotin) 500%
Vitamin B12 (Cyanocobalamide) 600%
Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol) 233%

My verdict?

So this morning, before my biggest session of the week (and at 19 days out from the BNBF British Finals), I added a serving of Pre Fuel to water and set off for the gym. (Feeling tropical, I went for watermelon flavour, since you asked, but there’s also berry and citrus…)

I’m not particularly sensitive to pre-workouts, because I do drink a lot of coffee and I do use pre-workouts regularly (once or twice a week, I reckon). Even so, I definitely felt the effects of Pre Fuel. I felt very focused, ready to rock, and definitely more awake and up for it! But not jittery or wired. Just focused, and chomping at the bit ready to attack my deadlifts. The effect lasted for about two hours I reckon. I also think it would be great for someone more sensitive to pre-workouts, because I wasn’t left with a crash of energy or any side effects. Two thumbs up for Pre Fuel, one of the best pre-workouts I’ve tried.

Kinetica products are researched and designed in the UK. You can find Kinetica on Facebook and follow Kinetica on Twitter.

Thanks, Kinetica Sports people for sending me the Pre Fuel samples!

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Kinetica Pre Fuel is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

5 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Kinetica Pre Fuel

  1. Ooh, could be just the thing for a regatta (though might need to accompany it with some jelly babies!!)

    Like

  2. Karen/karryann says:

    How does it compare to Pulse v4?

    Like

    • Nicola Joyce says:

      Pulse v4 has got Creatine mono, AAKG, taurine and guarana in which this doesn’t have (also Sucralose and dextrose) so will definitely feel like a different product! Depends on what you’re after, and how you react to those ingredients? Pulse v4 doesn’t have the same amino profile either, nor the b-vits 🙂

      Like

  3. […] Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Kinetica Pre Fuel … – 2013-08-27 · I make no secret of the fact that I love a pre-workout. Some may think they’re no better than an espresso and some BCAAs, some may even think they’re …… […]

    Like

Please leave a reply