Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Booost canned oxygen

booost-website-headers-1-_What

What the… what, now?

Canned oxygen? Air… in a can?

I’m only voicing what I know a lot of people are thinking.

When booost oxygen sent me some of their canned oxygen to test, I admit I had no idea what to think. And nor did my friends on Facebook. Responses were varied and vociferous. But then along came one or two high-level athletes (including our own World Champion, WNBF Pro Rich Gozdecki) saying that, yes, they use canned oxygen and yes they do feel it is of benefit to training and recovery.
can

So what’s the idea?

booost oxygen comes in hand-held canisters with a piston. You put the piston to your mouth, create a seal, “spray” into your mouth and take a big gulp (repeating this up to four times). It felt a bit naughty, like I was down the bottom of the school sports field doing something I oughtn’t. But rest assured, this stuff is nature’s finest. 99.5% pure oxygen and something minty which gives it a mild peppermint “taste” (does one “taste” oxygen?)

The company behind it say that only 2.7% of people train hard enough to need canned oxygen. I honestly doubt I’m one of them, even on deadlift day. But cyclists, biathletes and strongmen – all of whom are on record as using booost – almost certainly do.

The idea is that extra oxygen helps you recover more quickly from extreme exertion, so you can train harder. Athletes use booost when they hit their particular version of “the wall”: between challenging sets in the gym, during stoppages, after sprints or climbs, in transition, or before a big lift.

I have used booost on leg and deadlift days, but I haven’t measured my recovery, and I should point out that I’m currently dieting hard and not lifting at my one rep max or anything approaching it.

I’d be very interested to hear your experiences, if you’ve used booost, and your views.

What do you think to the idea behind athletes using canned oxygen for recovery and performance?

You can find booost oxygen on Facebook and follow booost on Twitter.

Thanks, booost oxygen people for sending me the samples!

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Booost canned oxygen is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

4 Responses to Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Booost canned oxygen

  1. Thank you for writing a thought provoking article. I am the owner of booost oxygen and thought I should declare this first before writing anything else 😉

    I just wanted to drop by and say that we have a ‘money back guarantee’ and if any of your readers wanted to review the research we have uploaded it here http://www.booostoxygen.com/why-use-booost/
    Good luck for the World’s. We’ll be rooting for you.

    P.s. Neale Cranwell swears by booost as a recovery between posing on stage – Just checkout his twitter.

    Like

  2. I remember seeing this at the body power expo and thinking what the hell is the point of this? still not 100% sure but great article 🙂

    Like

    • Nicola Joyce says:

      I think the theory behind it is sound (check their website – linked to it in my blog post) but I do think you need to try it for yourself. And I think you’d only feel the benefits if/when training at high enough intensity. Does make sense though!

      Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

Please leave a reply