Fitpros: how much quality written content are you producing?

When was the last time you created a quality bit of content which shows your passion and expertise?

I was at the Fitness Entrepreneur Bootcamp last weekend – a business conference for the fitness industry. One of my favourite speakers from last year’s event was back again: Nick Nanton of Celebrity Press, a branding guru based in the States. He really knows his stuff when it comes to identifying your positioning, building credibility and using your community. Important stuff for any individual, brand or business in the sport and fitness world.

I worked with Nick last year on a book project, helping some of his authors by ghostwriting their chapters. The book – “Total Body Breakthroughs” – became a number one best-seller on Amazon. Nick kindly offered to give a video testimonial for me and here it is

Thanks Nick!

What I really wanted from Nick was the best advice he could give my fitpro readers when it comes to writing content. Check out this very short video.

As you heard in that video, Nick says credibility is key for any brand, business or individual. And you build credibility through content – lots and lots of strong content. The more content you have, the more people know you know, he says. Remember, your target market aren’t mind-readers, you need to show them you’re an expert. Put your content out there so it can physically stack up to prove your expertise.

Nick advises you to create:
– blogs
– articles
– e-zines
– magazines
– newsletters
– press releases
– books
– seminars
– webinars

Online, offline, written, recorded, audio… it’s all relevant.

Nick says (and of course I’d agree) that you do need to make sure it’s well-written and edited (and he kindly says that, if you can’t do that or don’t have time, find someone like me who can do it for you).

Fitpros: how much quality written content are you producing? is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

6 Responses to Fitpros: how much quality written content are you producing?

  1. Juliet says:

    This is, more or less, a totally worthless comment so I apologize, but I love your accent.

    Just out of curiosity, how did you get into fitness writing? I don’t think I’ve ever asked you that before! I

    Like

    • thefitwriter says:

      Ha ha thanks! I hate my voice on that video (doesn’t everyone always say that?)

      The nutshell-version:

      – worked inhouse, part of my job was marketing/sales copywriting
      – made redundant, moved house at same time
      – always wanted to be a freelance journalist
      – was a few weeks away from first Channel swim at the time
      – so thought “if I can’t get a foot in the door now – with a first person pitch about a Channel swim – I’m probably never going to be any good!”
      – pitched, commissioned, ball rolling
      – with the copywriting, I started networking locally and it went from there really. Fitness/sport is my obvious niche so that’s what I promote (and love) the most.

      It’s been eight years now so I think it’s a case of lots of networking, hard work, being good at what I do, getting word of mouth referrals and just getting out there! Having a niche really helps, too. x

      Like

  2. […] – Where you could have found my byline back in May 2010 – How to engage with fitness journalists and bloggers – How I became a freelance writer (and other FAQs) – More bylines – My favourite commissions (at that point!) – A few fitness copywriting examples – And a few more here. – The importance of quality content for fitness professionals […]

    Like

  3. […] this post useful, you might also like: – How to engage with fitness journalists and bloggers – The importance of quality content for fitness professionals – How I became a freelance writer (and other FAQs) – A few fitness copywriting examples – And a and […]

    Like

Please leave a reply