Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Monkey Nutrition X-blend protein

Here’s the latest fitness kit I’ve reviewed this weekMonkey Nutrition X-Blend protein.

logo

I like Monkey Nutrition’s products, and I like them as people. It seems you’re interested in them, too – my two previous Monkey Nutrition reviews, (Monkey Nutrition E-Bomb and Primal23 and Monkey Nutrition Primal 26 whey isolate) still get a lot of hits from people searching for reviews on Google.

Up for review today is their X-Blend, a blend of 10 (!) types of protein. I often have casein in the evening, and I’ve been having X-Blend instead and I have to say not only is it completely delicious but really does seem to stave off my hunger (even at this stage in “the longest diet known to man*”)

*or so it seems

xblend_medium
This blend of 10 proteins is an advanced formula, creating a time-released protein with high bioavailability. The proteins include whey protein isolate, milk protein, egg white protein and whey protein concentrate, and X-Blend also includes taurine, extra BCAAs, l-Glutamine and lactoferrin (it’s a new one on me too – apparently it’s a glycoprotein found in whole milk, which passes through the initial stages of protein digestion with its peptides intact – leading to better muscle recovery and an immunity boost too).

Bonus recipe:
The chief Monkey actually sent me his own top-secret (not any more!) recipe but, alas, I am not able to try it at the moment (see aforementioned lengthy diet). But maybe you can? If you do, feel free to comment and let me know what you think. I’ll pass it on to the Monkey Man himself.

1 scoop X-Blend
1-2 tsp chia seed
1 tsp golden flax seed
1 tsp goji berries
4 large Brazil nuts
8 pecan halves
4 blanched hazelnuts
1 tbsp peanut butter
1/2 tbsp almond butter
350ml milk of choice (he says he uses a mix of 200ml full fat cow’s milk and 150ml almond milk)

Here are the stats on X-Blend (which comes in chocolate flavour):

Per serving:
130 kcals
24g protein
4g carbs (1g sugars)
1.5 g fat (1g saturated)
105 mg sodium
1g fibre

There are hefty amounts of aminos, as you’d expect.

Ingredients:
Whey protein concentrate, milk protein concentrate, whey protein isolate, micellar casein, egg albumen, cocoa (processed with alkali), natural and artificial flavor, milk protein isolate, calcium caseinate, whey protein hydrolysate, hydrolyzed whey protein isolate, sodium caseinate, L-Glutamine, L-Leucine, soy lecithin, L-Valine, L-Isoleucine, taurine, sucralose, acesulfame potassium and bovine lactoferrin

I give X-Blend a huge thumbs up and have really enjoyed sampling it.

Thanks, Monkey Nutrition people!

You can follow Monkey Nutrition on Twitter and like Monkey Nutrition on Facebook.

Fitness kit I’ve tested this week: Monkey Nutrition X-blend protein is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

Please leave a reply