My Vegan Month: 2 Weeks In

Week 2 (well, 12 days) of my “go vegan for a month” adventure has sent me a couple of challenges: hormonal, and social. The first was difficult at the time, but very short lived. The second was absolutely fine, thanks in part to understanding and thoughtful family members. But it did also go to show that eating vegan doesn’t have to be a drama.

I wrote about the hormonal challenge here, but had some helpful advice from vegan female friends. A couple of them said that they use big field/Portabello mushrooms for a more “meaty” texture if they ever crave that kind of meal. And one saidย that eating a vegan diet has actually helped to settle the ups and down of hormonal food cravings. So perhaps mine were just habit?

Regardless, I felt completely fine withinย a couple of days, and haven’t had any cravings for red meat or eggs (the culprits!) since.

Today was my first social event as a vegan (on day 12 of the month… clearly I lead a thrilling life packed with brunch dates, lunch dates, cocktails, the pub, and going out for dinner…)

My sister got home yesterday from a few weeks away doing charity work in South Africa (BTW you can donate to the cause here). So today, we all got together for Sunday lunch. Sunday lunch = roast, right? But vegans don’t eat roast chicken. Or the roast parsnips which were done in the chicken fat. Or the stuffing balls. Or the little sausage things. Nor do they eat Yorkshire puds (do they? I wasn’t sure, so I didn’t). And they sure as shit don’t eat homemade pear and almond tart, or homemade honeycomb icecream.

However, my family very kindly cooked the roast potatoes in non-animal fat, made me a delicious ratatouille, and kept the green veg free from butter. Then they kept some of the honeycomb aside (it’s called honeycomb but it’s nothing to do with honey), and made me a poached pear in place of the pear tart.

Job done. It was delicious, I still got to eat with everyone, and… there’s really nothing more to be said about it.

Veganism doesn’t have to cause a big drama. (Thank you to my thoughtful family for making me those bits & bobs ๐Ÿ™‚ )

What else do I have to report?

Training: still going great. I’ve actually changed my split recently, so frequency is higher. It’s been a while since I trained this frequently. But I’m recovering fine and training at a good intensity. I do have DOMS but I don’t think that’s to do with the vegan diet (?) I think it’s just from the volume, frequency, and intensity of training.

Hunger: I have felt hungry this week, but not much. And I suspect it’s because of the training. I’m always hungry anyway regardless of what I eat!

Cravings: apart from the hormonal ones, none. I’m really surprised about this. I wonder if it’s a case of fewer options = less food focus? I know I can’t have XYZ food, so I just don’t bother thinking about it. (My bodybuilder-prep “training” is probably coming in useful here).

I found Robert Cheeke’s “Vegan Bodybuilding & Fitness” in my massive book collection, it’s something I was sent to review on this blog back in 2011! (Cringe at my 2011 posts!) I’ve no idea if the info is outdated, or what the author has to say about bodybuilding and veganism in 2017. But I had a read back through the nutrition sections. These lists are useful – they’re online at Robert Cheeke’s website (he’s the author of the book).

Vegans/nutritionists – is this info complete and up to date? Would you add anything? (I’m aware that 7 years is a long time in nutrition!)

OK, I think that’s my update. I did intend to bake today but ran out of time. I’ll do it in the week and let you know how it turned out. I’ll be using Protein Pow’s pea protein baking/cooking mix. I want to make some kind of banana bread, or protein bars. I will make it up as I go along, and see how it turns out. My approach to much of life, tbf.

Bye!

Nicola Joyce โ€“ the Fit Writer โ€“ is a freelance copywriter and journalist with 13 years experience in writing content and direct response copy for the fitness industry. Get in touch via Facebook, by sending a message here.

Please leave a reply

