2 days til showtime!

Sorry I’ve been a bit quiet! Peak week drags yet flies by, somehow. Yes, here we are with just 48 hours to go til I’m on stage. Yahoooo! I couldn’t be happier and more excited. I really am feeling good about this. My coach is delighted, I’m seeing things (on my body) I’ve never seen before, and I’ve shown my routine to various friend via Skype and they all love it.


Pic from last night – end of my carb-deplete (sorry not great lighting).

After a four-day carb-deplete eating mainly fish (which actually didn’t feel so horrendous, certainly not as bad as last year, I wonder if that’s just because I know what to expect, so know how to hunker down and deal? Or whether the body has other “memory” capabilities, like muscle-memory?), my carbs are back. It’s a glorious day here, and the pup and I have enjoyed a long amble in the sunshine.

I’m now prepping food for the next few days:

– 1kg+ sweet potato, baked into thin slices (as little water as possible)
– 500g baby new potatos (I bake them like tiny jacket potatoes, lush!)
– rice cakes
– really fast carbs like honey and jam
– grilled turkey
– and of course… my post-comp eats.

Except… what’s wrong with me? I haven’t bothered to do that last bit yet. Last year, I actually got up in the middle of the night (well, about 4am) one morning in the lead-up to a comp, to tip my hidden-away stockpile of protein bars, chocolate and god knows what else all over the floor, sift through it like an antiques dealer who’d found a treasure chest, and pick out what I’d take to the show. Just real talk, folks…

This year, yes, I’ve got the stockpile. But it’s honestly not that big. And I am not feeling remotely moved to go and look at it and select the Chosen Ones which will be the things I eat when I come off stage. I’m sure I will do! But right now? Not arsed.

Is this a sign of a second-year of prep? Do we grow up, mature, settle down? Or am I just kidding myself: will I be down here in the kitchen tomorrow morning at 4am comparing the merits of a Bounce ball with that bag of chocolate covered Brazils?

Who knows.

All I know is that this prep has been the toughest, but ultimately the most enjoyable, and the one which (at time of writing) appears to have delivered the best results. Seriously. I have woken up every morning this week and thought “is that me?” And, this morning over Skype, my coach had to check and double-check when we’d last Skyped, because I just look so different.

That’s my take on it, anyway! What the judges have to say… we’ll hear in a little over 48 hours!

Have a lovely weekend, whatever you’re up to 🙂

Want to read more posts from the depths of bodybuilding prep? A round-up of some from last year:
My best-friend’s hen do whilst prepping…
28 days out from first comp
Last minute thoughts, stats, and that handy packing list for female bodybuilding competitors
A day in the life… bodybuilding prep in pics

If you wish to follow me on Twitter, please do thefitwriter on Twitter. I’ll post as many updates there as possible. Those of you who know me on Facebook, I’ll also update there. And of course I’ll write a show report with pics/videos as soon as I’m back online (and done some work!)

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 days til showtime! is a post from The Fit Writer blog.

Nicola Joyce – the Fit Writer – is a freelance copywriter and journalist who writes for the sport and fitness industry. Her main website is here.

7 Responses to 2 days til showtime!

  1. Tara says:

    Woop! How exciting 😀 I want your carby diet right now. It sounds devine! Good luck and I can’t wait to hear all about it!! xx

    Like

  2. sohojay says:

    Ok, I’m gonna do my push ups now!!! 🙂 I love your blog!!!

    Like

  3. Donloree says:

    So exciting! Today is the day…well maybe it is all done by now since you live in the ‘future’. 😀 Congrats!!

    Like

Please leave a reply

